Chameli Devi Jain Award

Entries Invited For Chameli Devi Jain Award

Chameli Devi Jain Award for Outstanding Women Mediaperson is an Indian journalism award named after independence activist Chameli Devi Jain

February 11, 2022

The Media Foundation is pleased to invite nominations for its annual Chameli Devi Jain Award for an Outstanding Woman Mediaperson for 2021.

The criteria for selection are excellence, analytical skill, social concern, insights, style, innovation, courage and compassion. Other things being equal, preference will be given to small-town/rural, Indian language journalists and those who have not been awarded before in their careers

Entries can be sent in English, Hindi or any other Indian language. The entries will be evaluated by an independent panel of jurists whose verdict shall be final.

Journalists in the print, digital, broadcast and current affairs documentary film media are eligible for the award, including photographers, cartoonists and newspaper designers.

Names and addresses of sponsors or references should be clearly mentioned with email ids and contact numbers. Self-nominated entries are also accepted.

Nominations should include samples of work done during the period January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2021, in the form of links (preferably) or clippings/tapes/CDs. Please send up to ten clippings or samples of work.

Nominations should have the nominee’s bio-data with complete postal address, telephone, fax numbers and email address for the facility of communication. These should be accompanied by a brief explanation of why the candidate is especially deserving of recognition.

Media persons sending their entries in regional languages are also requested to send a translation of their work in English.

Nominations can be sent to the following address: D-127 Anand Niketan, New Delhi - 110021 or emailed to Nominations should reach The Media Foundation no later than February 15, 2022.

The Chameli Devi Jain Award for Outstanding Women Mediaperson is an Indian journalism award named after Chameli Devi Jain, an Indian independence activist who became the first Jain woman to go to prison during India's independence struggle.

The award was instituted in 1980 by The Media Foundation and is given to women in the field of journalism.

According to Business Standard, the award is "perhaps India's longest-running media award for women.

ALSO READ | Panthougi Liklam: An Award-Winning Manipuri Short Film Not To Miss

Share article on:

Developed By Lumenoid Studios
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram