India's squad

India’s Squad For Last Two Tests Against England Announced

February 17, 2021

The All-India Senior Selection Committee met on February 17 to pick India's squad for the last two Test matches to be played at Ahmedabad against England.

India's squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Md. Siraj.

Umesh Yadav will join the team in Ahmedabad and after his fitness assessment will replace Shardul Thakur, who will be released for Vijay Hazare Trophy.

ALSO READ | Virat Kohli Is Better Than Sachin Tendulkar!

The Committee also picked five net bowlers and two players as standbys.

Net Bowlers: Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, Krishnappa Gowtham, Saurabh Kumar

Standby players: KS Bharat, Rahul Chahar.

Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem and Priyank Panchal have been released for Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The third Test match (day and night) will be played from February 24-February 28 and the fourth match will be played from March 8-March 12.

Both the matches will be played at the newly constructed Motera stadium in Ahmedabad.

If India wins the two Test matches or wins one and draws the other, then it will face New Zealand in the World Test Championship final at Lords.

However, if it loses one or both the matches and even draws the series, then it will be out of the race.

Englan, on the other hand, will have to win both the matches to qualify for the final.

In case of a drawn series, it will be Australia who plays New Zealand in the WTC final.

Share article on:

Developed By Lumenoid Studios
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram