Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy Senior Inter-District Cricket Tournament 2023
The Victorious Dibrugarh Team

Dibrugarh Wins Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy

July 5, 2023

Dibrugarh defeated Silchar to clinch the Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy Senior Inter-District Cricket Tournament 2023,  the final being played at the Amingaon Cricket Ground in Guwahati.

Though the match ended in a draw, Dibrugarh was declared winner based on their lead in the first innings.

Electing to bat first after winning the toss, Dibrugarh scored 239 in their first innings in 97.4 overs.

Neeraj Yadav (53), Ishaan Ahmed (47), and Rajat Khan (42) played pivotal roles in building their team's innings.

Rahul Singh of Silchar proved to be a formidable force with the ball, claiming 4 wickets for 85 runs.

Silchar fought bravely in their pursuit of the target but fell short, getting bowled out for 175 runs in 70 overs.

Sunzow Brahma (55) and Amit Yadav (46 not out) showcased their batting skills, yet it was the remarkable bowling performance by Nishant Singhania of Dibrugarh that stole the show.

Singhania's outstanding figures of 6 wickets for 43 runs, supported by Muktar Hussain's 2 wickets for 44 runs, restricted Silchar's progress.

ALSO READ | Riyan Parag Catches The Bus For ACC Men’s Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2023

Meanwhile, Denish Das of Barpeta was adjudged the "Best Batter" for consistently exhibiting exceptional batting skills.

Pushparaaj Sharma of Guwahati won the "Best Bowler" award for his outstanding contributions with the red cherry, consistently troubling opposing batsmen.

Nishant Singhania of Dibrugarh was deservedly named the "Player of the Final" for his extraordinary bowling display in the title clash.

Washim Ahmed of Dibrugarh was crowned the "Player of the Tournament" for his consistent contributions throughout the tournament.

The Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy Senior Inter-District Cricket Tournament 2023 showcased the immense talent and passion of district-level cricketers from the region.

The tournament witnessed intense matches, showcasing the love for the sport and the dedication of all participating teams.

Congratulations to Dibrugarh on their well-deserved victory in the final, and commendations to all the participants for their remarkable performances and sportsmanship throughout the tournament.

Share article on:

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram