Indian Playing XI
Courtesy: Cricket Next

Indian Playing XI For World Test Championship Final Announced

June 17, 2021

Two spinners and three pacers with six batters will comprise the Indian playing XI in the World Test Championship Final, the BCCI announced on June 17.

The final of the inaugural WTC will be played from June 18 to June 22 between India and New Zealand at Rose Bowl, Southampton, England.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed the Indian playing XI on June 17 and it has become a tradition for the Indian cricket team to announce the playing XI a day or two before the match during overseas tours.

Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami make their way back to the Indian line-up.

ALSO READ | Anil Kumble On This Day In 1999 Registered 'Perfect 10' Against Pakistan

The Indian Playing XI

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah.

The WTC final will be the 60th Test match between India vs New Zealand and out of all the encounters, India has won 21 and the Kiwis 12.

Moreover, there will be many firsts with the playing conditions allowing for an additional day in case playing time is lost.

This will be the first time when the five bowlers in the side; Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin play together in a Test match.

This match will also be the first for the Indian cricket team at a 'neutral' venue.

ALSO READ | Five Highly Educated Indian Cricketers

Share article on:

Developed By Lumenoid Studios
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram