Rohingya Muslims in Manipur
Rohingya Muslims in Manipur

Manipur Says No To Rohingyas, Bangladeshi Muslims

January 6, 2020

Manipur will not accept the entry of Rohingyas and Bangladeshi Muslims after ILP is introduced in the state and CAA is implemented.

This was announced by the All Manipur Muslim Organisations Co-ordinating Committee (AMMOCOC).

"We will not accept the entry of Rohingyas and Bangladeshi Muslims in the wake of the ILP being introduced in Manipur," AMMOCOC president SM Jalal Sheikh said.

He was addressing the media in Imphal on Sunday afternoon

"After CAA is implemented across the country if any Rohingya or Bangladeshi Muslim seeks to enter Manipur, then they should know we are not going to take them in," Sheikh asserted.

"Meetei Pangals are one of the indigenous people of Manipur and the community has taken a key role in preserving and protecting the indigenous people of the state," Sheikh added

"In connection with the issues related to Meetei Pangals, a few conventions have already been organised in the state," he added.

The AMMOCOC president further announced that a similar convention will be organised on January 21.

"During the convention, issues related to CAA and ILP will be discussed elaborately," Sheikh reiterated.

The convention will focus on how the ILP will protect the indigenous people of Manipur.

"Those interested in expressing their views and opinions during the convention can submit their details at AMMOCOC headquarters by January 15," he added.

The bill to implement iner line permit (ILP) in Manipur was introduced in 2018, by the state government.

The bill, however, did not get passed since it could not get the President's assent.

Further, the inclusion of Manipur in Inner Line Permit was announced on December 10, 2019, after the Centre decided to pass the Citizenship (Amendment) Act and leave Manipur out of its purview.

There has been a widespread protest against CAA in the country, with Assam being the epicentre.

CAA seeks to grant citizenship to refugees of six non-Muslim communities from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan who had to leave their nations after being persecuted on religious grounds.

The six communities are Hindu, Buddhisht, Christian, Jain, Sikh, and Parsee.

Share article on:

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram